Kel-Tec Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please forgive my ignorance, I have not experienced any malfunctions with my p32 and was wondering what exactly is "rimlock"? I have been shooting semi-auto pitols for over 25 years and have never heard this term. TIA,
Chuck :?

·
Premium Member
3,629 Posts
.32 cases have are rimmed cases as opposed to rimless cases. Not that either has no rim, but the rimmed cases have a slightly larger rim than the case body. With this type of case it's possible for the rim of the top round in the mag to get stuck behind the rim of the round underneath it... preventing it from being fed forward. With .32 ammo it happens mostly with JHPs because the rounds are slightly shorter allowing more play in the mag.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks

I knew I could count on you guys. I've been to yzguys' site but must have missed that part. The explanation also answers why I never heard the term. I've been shooting 9mm, 40s&w, and 45acp, with the occasional 38super thrown in. I haven't experienced rimlock in the .32 jhp rounds I've fired so far, but we all know how Murphy's Law operates. I will test the SilverTips I've got to see if they will do that, then work on some prevention.
Thanks again :)
Chuck

G

·