Kel-Tec Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey. I just found this forum and have a problem. I have been carrying my Kel-Tec P-11 9mm for around 10 months or so and am frustated that hollow points jam on the feed ramp when I try to chamber a round.

I pull the slide all the way back and let it fly forward but most of the time the round gets stuck half way up the ramp to the chamber.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what I should do?

Thanks!
-Todd In Texas

·
Registered
83 Posts
I was having the same problem. I polished up the feedramp and it got better, but was not perfect. Someone on this board suggested Federal Hy-Shok (not Hydra-Shok) 115gr. JHP 9-BP. Of all the hollowpoints out there this one has a bullet tip that is almost like a FMJ. The Federal 9BP performs flawlessly in my P-11. I also have some Crobon PowR'Ball on order and understand it feels very reliably.

·
Premium Member
3,629 Posts
The Corbon PowR'Ball should feed very reliably. It doesn't have the hollow tip that defines JHP rounds and causes things to bind up. The Federal 9BP is also a good suggestion for a more typical JHP.

·
Banned
5,800 Posts
There's also a possiblity that your mag lips are a tad too close together at the front, causing the bullet to "dip" as it approaches the ramp.
Do you have only one mag, or does it do it with others? Sometimes the lips can be spread slightly in front to allow the bullet to rest slightly "nose up". This is best accomplished with a wooden dowel or similar non-abrasive object.
In the meantime, Cor-Bon's "Pow'r Point" ammo should feed perfectly and perform as well as any other good hollowpoint round.
Flyer

·
Premium Member
5,516 Posts
Todd_In_Texas,

1) 600 grit sandpaper on feed ramp. Lightly sand until you get a mirror shine. (washboard effect from rough machining on feed ramp) Don't sand up into the chamber.

2) Any chance that you're using 147 grain ammo? (bullet size, shape)