Quality control on the CP-33
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Bearhunter

Thread: Quality control on the CP-33

Junior KTranger

Quality control on the CP-33

Hello! Names Danny
    I am new to this form. I just wanted to know if anyone else had problems with the quality control side of Kel-tec. My first Kel-Tec purchase was the PMR-30. The first month I had it I was out grouse hunting and my front sight fell off. Was not happy about that. So I called customer service and they were nice enough to next day air it to me with a new design with two screws. Not a big deal but made me think about the quality. I waited almost 8 months to get my hands on a cp33. Yesterday I picked it up and went home to admire it. I noticed the front sight was moving around you could almost lift it a 1/8 up. Well I knew something was wrong. No big deal I'll tighten it. Well it just clicked both ways. I contacted Kel-tec and they told me I have to send it in it would take more than two weeks to get it back. That does not make me happy especially for a brand new pistol. So I ended up having to take it to a gunsmith having him tear it down two pieces. So I could find out what was wrong and possibly fix it now. Well the person that installed the front sight had a bad but and cross threaded it. You would think the person that installed the sight would of notice the error. Nope he just let it fly out the door and in to my hand. You guys are 2 for 2 on screw up on both pistol purchases.
    Oklahomabound likes this.

Kel Tec basically has NO quality control. They slap the guns together and fix a lot of them when they are returned. They seem perfectly fine with that.

Junior KTranger
    Quote Originally Posted by Dlfarkas View Post
    Kel Tec basically has NO quality control. They slap the guns together and fix a lot of them when they are returned. They seem perfectly fine with that.